No Make-Up

20150412_113818

With make-up and without

I love make-up. No. I really love make-up. My personal philosophy when it comes to cosmetics is, “if it looks like you are not wearing make-up you are doing it wrong.” Make-up is defined as, “cosmetics such as lipstick or powder applied to the face, used to enhance or alter the appearance.”  My make-up style tends to lean more to the Kim Kardashian side of things. I look pretty different without it.

As a woman I have been told my entire life to find a man who, “Loves me without my make-up.” Because make-up is used to enhance and alter a persons looks this statement is implying that you should find someone who accepts you, even your flaws. I think it is universal that we all wanted be accepted for who we are as people. Here is my struggle. I want to come to God with my make-up on.

I can accept that another imperfect human should love me even though I am flawed. I just have a hard time coming to God with the mess that is so often my life. I want to “pretty” my spiritual life up before I come to God. An example of this is when I attended church. I have a hard time letting go in during the worship service because, I have not lived a particularly holy life that week.

But I am so wrong. God looks at the mess of my life and sees perfect beauty. He knows that our lives would look better with more Jesus in them but, He loves us any way. In Mark 2:17 Jesus used a different example He said,”Who needs a doctor: the healthy or the sick? I’m here inviting the sin-sick, not the spiritually-fit,” (MSG). God does not want us to feel judged and shame. That is not what He came to do.

“For God did not send the Son into the world in order to judge (to reject, to condemn, to pass sentence on) the world, but that the world might find salvation and be made safe and sound through Him.” John 3:17 (AMP)

You are loved with out make-up on your life by the one who knew what you looked like to begin with. Let Him accept you.

Leave a Reply

