The greatest love story ever.

As someone as obsessed with Disney as I am it would be easy for you to assume that some fairy tale is what I would call the greatest love story. But you would be wrong. The story of the prophet Hosea is one that truly shakes me to my core. In Hosea chapter 1 verse 2 it says, “The first time God spoke to Hosea he said: ‘Find a whore and marry her. Make this whore the mother of your children.”’ Kinda shocking for Sunday school right?
So Hoses does what God tells him and marries and has children with a prostitute. Gomer (that was the name of the prostitute. What a lovely name for a girl!) keep returning to her life of how shall we say “extracurricular activities”. Time after time Hosea went back to the seedy part of town to get his harlot wife Gomer, and bring her back home. In my mind I see her as a prostitute boomerang. Ever time he brought her home back she would go.
It is really easy to wonder why on earth someone would love a hooker, who even when removed from evil, keep going back. Take a moment and think about the last time you sinned. I don’t know about you but I sin a lot. A. LOT. I keep going back to evil.
But here is the truly amazing thing. God always comes after me like Hoses. Always. He still loves me with a fierce passion. He will always find me in the darkest of places and bring me home.  Happy Valentines day.
“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,  neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

Leave a Reply

